Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Report Abuse   |   Sign In
Share |

The second session for Class 31 was held in Norman, October 19 – 21, 2017. The critical issues facing the state addressed during the session were public education and healthcare. This is the first time that the Adult Class Program has visited Norman in eleven years! During the session, participants learned about many public education and healthcare topics in Oklahoma, including Overview of Current Education Issues, Education Systems in Oklahoma, How to Properly Fund Education In Oklahoma, the State of Health in Oklahoma, Current Issues Facing Health Care in Oklahoma, Creating a New Paradigm for a Healthier Oklahoma and The Link Between Education and Health Care in Oklahoma. Participants visited several locations in Oklahoma City and Norman: Oklahoma Medical Research Foundation, OU Children’s Hospital, The Stephenson Cancer Center, The National Weather Center, Sam Noble Museum of Natural History, Fred Jones Art Museum, and OU Athletics (stadium tour), Volare, Moore-Norman Technology Center, The Oklahoma University Library, and Norman Regional Hospital.


Thank you to our Public Education and Healthcare Speakers: Jane Bowen (Class 14), Superintendent, Moore Norman Technology Center; Ginny Bass Carl (Class 30 & Lifetime Member), Sr. Director of Development and Gift Planning, OMRF; Kent Carter (Class 28); Robyn Castleberry, Moore Norman Technology Center; Dr. Terry Cline, Commissioner of Health, Oklahoma State Department of Health; Dr. James Crutcher, Former Commissioner of Health; Patti Davis (Class 13), Senior Vice President, Strategy and Development, OU Medical Center; Lee Dow, Automotive Service Instructor, Moore Norman Technology Center; Dr. Linda Dzialo (Class 16), President and CEO, Great Expectations; Tina Fitzgerald, Moore Norman Technology Center; Ben Fowler, Imaging Facility Manager, OMRF; Ida Fryover, Moore Norman Technology Center; Dr. Keith Gaddie, President’s Associates Presidential Professor and chair of the Department of Political Science, University of Oklahoma; Dr. Gregg Garn, Dean, College of Education, University of Oklahoma; Cassie Gilman (Class 29), Vice President, Marketing and Development, Regional Food Bank of Oklahoma; Rep. Claudia Griffith (Class 30), State Representative, State of Oklahoma House of Representatives; Terri Helvey, Moore Norman Technology Center; Joy Hofmeister, State Superintendent of Public Instruction, Oklahoma State Department of Education; Traci Hopper, Moore Norman Technology Center; Dr. Diane Horm, Director, Early Childhood Education Institute (ECE), University of Oklahoma – Tulsa; Dr. Glen Johnson, Chancellor, Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education; Farooq Karim (Class 30 & Lifetime Member), Vice President Director of Design, Rees Associates Inc.; Dr. James Kennedye (Class 30 & Lifetime Member), Emergency Physician, Emergency Medicine Physicians (EMP)/St. Francis Hospital; Julie Knutson (Class 2 & Lifetime Member), President and CEO, The Oklahoma Academy; Montie Koehn, Principal, Norman Kennedy Elementary School; Brad Little, Partner, HeyDay Entertainment – Norman; Rick Luce, Dean of University Libraries, Professor and Peggy V. Helmerich Chair, and Associate Vice President for Research University of Oklahoma; Dr. Marcie Mack (Class 29 & Lifetime Member), State Director, Oklahoma Department of Career and Technology Education; Joe Magrini, Digital Video Production Instructor, Moore Norman Technology Center; Racheal Melot,  Community Program Manager, Blue Zones Project - Pottawatomie County; Dr. Courtney Montgomery, Associate Member, Arthritis & Clinical Immunology Research Program, OMRF; Veretta Parker, Instructor, Moore Norman Technology Center; Lindy Ritz (Class 1 & Lifetime Member), President, The Ritz Group, LLC; Valorie Rogers, Health Library, Moore Norman Technology Center; Natalie Shirley (Class 22 & Lifetime Member), President of OSU/OKC and Sec. of Education and Workforce Development, Oklahoma State University – OKC; Dr. Joe Siano, Retired Superintendent, Norman Public Schools; Christa Simmons, Counselor, Moore Norman Technology Center; Amy Smith, Digital Video Production Instructor, Moore Norman Technology Center; Richie Splitt, CEO   Norman Regional Hospital; Frankie Templar, Health Instructional Assistant, Moore Norman Technology Center; Dr. Gaurav Varshney, Assistant Member, Functional & Chemical Genomics Research Program, OMRF; Penny Voss (Class 15), Vice President of Development, OMRF; Steve Yadon, Heating/ Air Conditioning Instructor, Moore Norman Technology Center; and, Joshua Younger, Welding  Instructor, Moore Norman Technology Center.


A special thank you to the members in Norman that coordinated this session for Class 31. It was truly remarkable, and we are indebted to your hospitality, generosity and flexibility! 


With profound gratitude,


Marion Paden

President and CEO
Class XXI and Lifetime Member



Membership Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal